Tag Archives: winner

Julia Bouwsma Wins the 2015
CPR Book Award

The editors are pleased to announce the winner of the 2015 Cider Press Review Book Award: Julia Bouwsma. Ms. Bouwsma won the 2015 award with her manuscript Work by Bloodlight.

Runner-up for the prize was Erin Elizabeth Smith with her manuscript Down: The Alice Poems. An honorable mention goes to V.P. Loggins and his manuscript The Green Cup.

Contest judge Linda Pastan writes:

It’s strange how so much beauty can come out of this often painful, always unflinching work. In poems that range through the physical world−the weasel in the henhouse, the calligrapher at his table−Bouwsma’s language is at once muscular and lyrical, her voice both passionate and honest.

The manuscript will be published in January, 2017.

The Open Mouth of the Vase Wins the 2013 Cider Press Review Book Award

AMy Ash wins 2013 CPR Book Award

Congratulations to poet Amy Ash who wins the 2013 Cider Press Review Book Award with her manuscript, The Open Mouth of the Vase. The final judge was Charles Harper Webb.

Amy Ash is a Doctoral student at the University of Kansas.  She has an MFA in creative writing/poetry and a B.A. in English and Spanish with a creative writing minor, both from New Mexico State University. Her work has been published in various journals, including Cimarron Review, Lake Effect, Inkwell, Red Clay Review, Rio Grande Review, Harpur Palate, and Mid-American Review.

Ms. Ash will receive a $1500 award, a publishing contract and 25 author copies of the finished book.  The Open Mouth of the Vase is scheduled for release January, 2015.

Runner Up:

In the Dark Medina, by Jaclyn Dwyer