Tag Archives: CPR Book Award

2017 CPR Editors’ Prize Finalists List Announced

The editors of Cider Press Review  are honored to be able to announce the names of the eight finalist manuscripts for the 2017 CPR Editors’ Prize book award:

(In Alphabetical Order)

After All
All Throats Sound Animal
The Archaeology of Light
Bewildered by All This Broken Sky
The Compost Reader
Glass is Glass Water is Water
Notes on Vanishing
Was Body

Steel, by Alison Prine, a finalist for Vermont Book Award

Our warmest congratulations to Alison Prine. Her debut collection, “Steel” is a finalist for the Vermont Book Award.

“This is a really exciting year for women writers in Vermont. Seven of the eight finalists are women who come from all corners of the state,” said Kathryn Roberts, the Vermont Book Award fellow.

The Vermont Book Award is a $5,000 literary prize created by VCFA to celebrate the literature of Vermont. In order to be nominated, the book must be a work of outstanding literary merit by a Vermont writer and published in the prior year.

“If ever there was a year to read every book on the list, it’s this year. These books shine in their brilliance across all the genres. Our finalists are all from Vermont, but these books have a global reach,” said Miciah Bay Gault, coordinator of the Vermont Book Award and Director of the MFA in Writing & Publishing at VCFA.

Eight judges read through more than 40 Vermont Book Award nominees to choose the finalists. This year’s judges, each with expertise in one of the four genres, are Emily Bernard, Amanda Coplin, Chard deNiord, Grace Greene, Beth McCabe, Kerrin McCadden, Janice Obuchowski, and Tanya Lee Stone.

The winner of the 2017 prize will be revealed at the Vermont Book Award Gala, an awards ceremony to be held at VCFA on Sept. 23, 2017.

Purchase your copy of Steel in the CPR Bookstore.

Deadline Extended to Enter Manuscript for the Cider Press Review Book Award

We’ve extended the deadline for submissions to the 2016 Cider Press Review Book Award through Saturday. All entries must be accompanied by a $26 entry fee. Entries must be postmarked no later than December 3, 2016. [Postmark or upload date is sufficient-no need to panic and send Overnight mail.]

The annual Cider Press Review Book Award offers a $1,500 prize, publication, and 25 author’s copies of a book length collection of poetry. Author receives a standard publishing contract. Initial print run is not less than 1,000 copies. 2016 judge is Anne Harding Woodworth.

While we strongly encourage all authors to use our convenient online submission system, we also understand that some writers still prefer mail: PO Box 33384, San Diego, CA 92163.
See our submission guidelines online at ciderpressreview.com.