Tag Archives: book award

Blueprints, by Sarah Burke, wins the 2018 Cider Press Review Editors’ Prize Book Award

The editors are very pleased to announce that Sarah Burke has won the 2018 Cider Press Review book award with her manuscript Blueprints. Two finalists/Runners-up for the award were Amy Meckler with
The Myth of the Grim Reaper, and Nicole Melanson with her manuscript, Girls on Land.

“Blueprints”  has a tentative release date of August, 2019 from Cider Press Review. All contest entrants will receive a copy of the book.

Sarah Burke lives in Pittsburgh and holds an MFA in Creative Writing and Environment from Iowa State University. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in 32 Poems, Cimarron Review, Cincinnati Review, Fourteen Hills, Mid-American Review, Midwestern Gothic, Passages North, and other journals.

The 2018 CPR Book Award is Accepting Manuscript Submissions

The Cider Press Review Book Award is accepting manuscript submissions through through December 14, 2018. This year’s judge is Leona Sevick.

The annual Cider Press Review Book Award offers a $1,500 prize, publication, and 25 author’s copies of a book length collection of poetry. Author receives a standard publishing contract. Initial print run is not less than 1,000 copies. The winner is selected by this year’s judge, Leona Sevick.

We strongly encourage all authors to use our online submission form at https://ciderpressreview.submittable.com/submit/. For a limited time, we will still accept submissions by mail to PO Box 33384, San Diego, CA 92163.

Entries must be accompanied by a $26 entry fee. See our submission guidelines online and remit your entry fee through https://ciderpressreview.submittable.com/submit/.

We look forward to reading your wonderful work!

Jeanne Larsen wins the 2017 Cider Press Review Book Award with What Penelope Chooses

Jeanne Larsen of Roanoke, VA has won the 2017 CPR Book Award. Her manuscript, What Penelope Chooses was selected by final judge Lauren Alleyne from among twenty (20) semi-finalist entries. Ms. Larsen receives $1,500, publication of her book by Cider Press Review, and 25 author copies. What Penelope Chooses will be released in January, 2019.


What Penelope Chooses, by Jeanne Larsen


Perigee, by Diane Kerr

Honorable Mention:

All She Is Willing, by Daniela Buccilli

Other finalists:

An Azalea Blooms in the Murderer’s Yard, by Ralph Sneeden
The Ocean Cannot Be Blue, by Kirsten Hampton

Congratulations to Ms. Larsen and all of our finalists.